FIREFIGHT! Oscar Mike

The website for our game FIREFIGHT! has launched. It has been a lot of work but so worth it. I touched everything from logo design to line height and danged near everything in between. Writing content was perhaps the most difficult part. For a while now I’ve been working on my visual design chops but writing for an audience is a much more recent turn for me. It’s tough! I have an improved but not new respect for those who do it every day.

The site itself runs on Drupal within the Acquia Drupal Gardens cloud. I’ve been impressed not only with the stability of the site but the pace at which the Acquia guys are rolling out new features. For example, they just released functionality to add custom JavaScript frameworks to your site. Nifty.

Back when I was a systems administrator I maintained a Drupal install. The Acquia team does it better than I did or could do today.

Some parts of the process were painful. Working with the built in rich text editor proved difficult and a majority of the time I worked outside of it using apps like TextMate, Espresso, and the amazing CSSEdit. Along the way I picked up a few techniques like editing live within Firefox with Firebug to do rapid prototyping. I think there’s a blog post or two in there somewhere.

Anyways, check out the site and let me know what you think. Feedback is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

